The Tennessee Arts Commission and the Upper Cumberland Development District are pleased to announce that Leadership Opportunity of Smith County has completed a project with the Arts Build Communities Grant from the Tennessee Arts Commission.

Leadership Opportunity of Smith County applied $1,155.50 in grant funds for a mural installation in Carthage which was matched by $1,155.50 with funds raised by the 2018 Leadership class.
Leadership Opportunity of Smith County is a program designed to empower and motivate participants to develop the quality of their leadership for the continued enhancement of Smith County.
Members of the 2018 class completed two service projects for Smith County; the installation of the historical marker honoring the 1949 train crash that killed 10 members of the Bennett family, and the installation of a mural in downtown Carthage.
Local leaders have been working diligently to preserve the beauty and history of Smith County, and the leadership class wanted to pay a local artist to commemorate the rich history and culture within a mural. The mural features Smith County’s world-famous trout, Tennessee Maneuvers, the Historic Cordell Hull Bridge, local geodes, the Historic Smith County Courthouse, and the Carthage Junction Depot. Members of the 2018 class were Virginia Alexander, Erika Ebel, Matthew Inyart, Shannon Minchey, Nancy Richardson, Jessica Webb, Keith Williams, Bob Williamson, and Carol Wilmore.
The Tennessee Arts Commission invests in more than 700 nonprofit organizations across the state benefiting communities through quality of life, economic development, tourism and providing a more balanced education for our children. You can support the TN Arts Commission by purchasing a specialty license plate (
The Upper Cumberland Development District provides regional planning and assistance to the 14-county Upper Cumberland region to promote economic growth and community enhancement. Find UCDD on the web at and at


Pictured Left to Right: Carthage Mayor Sarah Marie Smith, Artist Jenny Penuel, Keith Williams, Erika Ebel, Virginia Alexander, Jessica Webb, Bob Williamson, and Smith County Chamber Executive Director Bill Woodard. (Not photographed: Matthew Inyart, Shannon Minchey, Nancy Richardson, and Carol Wilmore)