# Center Hill RPO Technical & Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Upper Cumberland Development District, Cookeville, TN June 3, 2022

**Technical Members Present:** James Mills (Chair), Rodney Boyd (via proxy Sean Carroll), Mark Farley, Tommy Lee, Chad Marcum, Clay Parker (via proxy Chad Marcum), Kevin Rush, Dean Selby and Jeff Young (via proxy Brad Hennessee).

**Executive Members Present:** Denny Wayne Robinson (Chair), Jeff Young (via proxy Brad Hennessee), Jimmy Haley, Randy Porter (via proxy Kevin Rush), Ricky Shelton (via proxy Jon Ward) and Ryle Chastain.

**Others Present:** Silas Stoddart, Rachael Bergmann, Mark Dudney, Jim Herrin, Sean Garrett, Jon Ward, Betsy Scarisbrick, Shane Carvey, Chris Phillips, Chuck Sutherland, and Marcie Ackerman.

#### Welcome & Introduction:

Silas Stoddart welcomed the Center Hill RPO Committee members at 1:01 p.m. James Mills called the meeting to order and approve the minutes of the last meeting.

#### **Technical Committee Call to Order and Roll Call:**

At 1:02 p.m. Mr. Stoddart, on conducted a roll call of the Technical Committee and announced that a quorum was obtained.

# **Approval of November 17, 2021, Technical Committee Meeting minutes:**

Mr. Stoddart opened the floor for the approval of the November 17, 2021, meeting minutes. Mark Farley made a motion to approve, the motion was seconded by Kevin Rush. The motion passed unanimously.

## **Executive Committee Call to Order and Roll Call:**

At 1:06 p.m. Denny Wayne Robinson, the Executive Committee Chair, called the Executive Committee to order. Mr. Stoddart conducted a roll call of the Executive Committee and announced that a quorum was obtained.

# **Approval of November 17, 2021, Technical Committee Meeting minutes:**

Chairman Robinson opened the floor for the approval of the November 17, 2021 meeting minutes. Jimmy Haley made a motion to approve, and the motion was seconded by Ryle Chastain. The motion passed unanimously.

## **UCHRA Updates:**

Holly Montooth, UCHRA Transportation Director, provided statistics for the Transportation Department. Ms. Montooth stressed the public transportation was open to anyone. It is expected from July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022, there will be approximately 36,000 trips for the Dale Hollow region. Throughout the

entire Upper Cumberland, she anticipates 250,000 which is higher than the previous fiscal year, but still not back to pre-COVID numbers. UCHRA was awarded a grant recently which will allow them to purchase two new electric vehicles. Ms. Montooth also briefly mentioned the IMPROVE ACT Grant that a few Tennessee Tech University interns were working on.

#### **Vacant Slots and New Members:**

Three new members were introduced to the committees. Chuck Sutherland will serve as the Bike/Pedestrian/Greenways/Trails Representative, Charly Lyons will serve as the Port Authority Representative and Sammy Talent will serve as Freight Representative.

With so many new faces to the committees, Mr. Stoddart provided a brief overview of what an RPO is.

#### **Grant Updates:**

Mr. Stoddart provided updates on Multimodal and Community Transportation Planning Grants throughout the area.

The Safe Streets for All is part of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law. The project overall is \$5 billion, with \$1 billion available in fiscal year 2022. The program will allow for the development or updates to a comprehensive safety action plan; conduct planning, design and development activities in support of an Action Plan and will carry out projects and strategies previously identified in an action plan.

#### **ADA Compliance:**

Mr. Stoddart reminded the committees the necessity of completing and maintaining an ADA Transition plan.

## **EV Charging Community Workshop:**

Mr. Stoddart invited the committees to an electric vehicle charging workshop that would be held Monday, June 6, at the development district. This three-hour workshop will provide a background on EVs and how you charge them, what is going on in Tennessee with jobs and EV production, and discuss the funding opportunities that are coming in 2022, 2023, and beyond.

## **Elections of Officers:**

After thanking the out-going officers, Mr. Stoddart opened the floor to nominations for Technical Committee Chair. Tommy Lee nominated Dean Selby. With no other nominations, Mark Farley made a motion to approve and Brad Hennessee provided the second. With no discussion the vote passed with a vote of all ayes.

Mr. Stoddart asked for nominations for the position of Technical Committee Vice Chair. Mark Farley nominated Kevin Rush. With no other nominations, Tommy Lee made a motion to approve and James Mills provided the second. Mr. Rush was elected with a vote of all ayes.

Next, the Executive Board Chair was discussed. Ryle Chastain nominated Jimmy Haley. With no discussion, Ryle Chastain made a motion to approve and James Mills provided the second. Mr. Haley was elected with a vote of all ayes.

Mr. Haley then nominated Denny Wayne Robinson to the position of Executive Board Vice Chair. With no discussion, Kevin Rush made a motion to approve and Brad Hennessee provided the second. Mr. Robinson was elected with a vote of all ayes.

# **Governor's Highway Plan**

Rachael Bergmann, TDOT Region 2, provided updates on the Governor's Highway Plan. In the fall meeting, Ms. Bergmann mentioned the committees will vote on the three-year plan rankings. Once that list is compiled, she will send it to TDOT with a final plan being announced in May 2023. Ms. Bergmann provided a brief update on bridge updates in Smith County.

#### **Resurfacing Project Updates:**

Ms. Bergmann stressed the importance of communicating with TDOT when roadway, sidewalk, and other projects were being done. During resurfacing, Ms. Bergmann mentioned this was a perfect time to add bike lanes, crosswalks, rumble strips, etc. For more information, please go to https://www.tn.gov/tdot/multimodal-transportation-resources/bicycle-and-pedestrian-program.html

#### **TN Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Plan:**

Andrea Noel, OCT Region 2 Supervisor, laid out the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Program. Ms. Noel stated the overall program was \$7.5 billion and Tennessee would be getting \$88 million to use between 2022 – 2026. Plans are due by September 30. For more information, you can go to https://www.tn.gov/tdot/long-range-planning-home/air-quality-planning/tevi.html Each charging station would be at least four charging areas and every 50 miles along the selected corridors. The DC Fast Charge option would fully charge a vehicle within 45 minutes of being plugged in. Ms. Noel provided a few statistics on electric cars, including electric car sales now is 4% of the Tennessee automobile market. After a brief discussion from the committee members and Ms. Noel, she mentioned there would be a Community Charging Planning Workshop at the development district Monday.

Ms. Noel mentioned the Justice 40 Initiative. https://www.whitehouse.gov/omb/briefingroom/2021/07/20/the-path-to-achieving-justice40/

#### Other Business and Public Comment

With no other business to discuss both the Technical Committee and Executive Board meetings were adjourned by Mr. Stoddart at 2:03 p.m.