Volunteer & Internship Opportunities

//Volunteer & Internship Opportunities
Volunteer & Internship Opportunities 2017-11-16T16:25:54+00:00

Housing & Family Services – Laurel Creek Apartments

Located in Cookeville, Laurel Creek Apartments offers housing for seniors. Volunteer opportunities could include visiting and interacting with seniors through activities, such as bingo.

Contact: Myra Walker, P: 931.476.4120  E: mwalker@ucdd.org

Economic & Community Development

Our Economic and Community Development department offers internship and volunteer opportunities in various programs including GIS, grant writing, strategic planning, local planning, downtown revitatlization and historic preservation.

Contact: Tommy Lee, P: 931.979.4105, E: tlee@ucdd.org

GIS (Geographical Information Systems)

A GIS Internship or volunteer position would entail working closely with the staff GIS specialist to produce high quality maps for grants and presentations for developers, designers, and members of the Economic and Community Development team. Additional work may include demographic and spatial analysis of US Census data, American Community Survey, and telephone and boots-on-the-ground surveys for grants. Interested individuals should have basic working knowledge of the following software and skills: ArcMap, Google Earth, Excel, and cartography.

Positions for interested graduate students can be considered on a case-by-case basis. Interested graduate students should contact the staff GIS Specialist directly to discuss ideas.

Contact: Chuck Sutherland, P: 931.476.4183  E: csutherland@ucdd.org

Family Caregiver Program

Our Family Caregiver Program supports adults who are caring for a loved one. This program offers respite care for caregivers. Multiple volunteer and internship opportunities are available.

Contact: Clare Farless, P: 931.476.4143  E: cfarless@ucdd.org

SHIP/SMP

State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) – Counsels seniors and their caregivers on the best Medicare choices for them. Senior Medicare Patrol (SMP) – Educates seniors on how to reduce and report Medicare and Medicaid fraud, waste, and abuse. There are multiple volunteer opportunities within these programs.

Contact: Josh Hunter, P: 931.476.4148  E: jhunter@ucdd.org

Public Guardianship

Public Guardianship aids seniors who are unable to make financial and medical decisions for themselves. Volunteer opportunities could include visiting seniors in long-term care facilities.

Contact: Kym Dunham, P: 931.476.4169  E: kdunham@ucdd.org

Ombudsman

Provides advocates for residents in long-term care facilities. If residents have concerns or are experiencing problems with a long-term care facility, our Ombudsman representatives seek solutions.

Contact: Kim Fowler, P: 931.476.4171  E: ombud@twlakes.net

Home Delivered Meals

The Upper Cumberland Human Resource Agency coordinates home delivered meals to seniors in our area. If you are interested in volunteering with the home delivered meal service, please contact UCHRA for additional details.

Contact: Misty Turner, UCHRA, P: 931.528.1127